Wednesday, January 12, 2011

SPARKS Literary Festival January 23rd!

The Memorial University of Newfoundland's Faculty of Arts will be holding its 2011 SPARKS literary festival from 10:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday, January 23, at the Petro-Canada Hall in the School of Music. Map link

Confirmed participants include (in alphabetical order):
•Libby Creelman
•Stan Dragland
•Kate Evans
•Dana Evely
•Al Geehan
•Andy Jones
•James Langer
•Kevin Major
•Samuel Thomas Martin
•Larry Mathews
•Robin McGrath
•Bernice Morgan
•George Murray
•Jane Urquhart
•Marie Wadden
•Emily White

Schedule of events: SPARKS Literary Festival 2011

10.20 a.m. Opening remarks: Dr. Noel Roy, Dean of Arts pro tempore; Mary Dalton, Festival Director

Session 1 : Chair: Mary Dalton
(10.30-12.00) Readings: 10.30-11.30; discussion: 11.30-11.50
Authors: Kevin Major; Marie Wadden; Larry Mathews; Bernice Morgan.

Noon-1 pm.: lunch break in festival lunch room (room 1032) for audience (bring your own or
buy a snack there; eat in the SPARKS Lunch Room)

Session 2: Chair: Larry Mathews
(1.00-2.20) Readings:
Authors: Dana Evely; Samuel Thomas Martin; Libby Creelman; James Langer.

Session 3: Chair: Jennifer Lokash
(2.30-4.00) Readings 2.30-3.30 p.m.; discussion: 3.30-400 p.m.
Authors: Kate Evans; Al Geehan; George Murray; Jane Urquhart.

Session 4: Chair: Jessica Grant
(4.30-6.00) Readings: 4.30-5.30 p.m.; 5.30-6.00 p.m.;
discussion, followed by announcement of haiku competition winner: 5.30-6.00 p.m.
Authors: Emily White; Stan Dragland; Robin McGrath; Andy Jones.

Closing remarks: Mary Dalton
6.00 p.m. Reception in room 1032 in School of Music.

10.00-a.m.-6 p.m. Book and journal displays available. Authors will be signing books after their reading session.
The festival is free and open to all. Free parking is available in Lot 15B, next to (and east of) the School of Music. Click here for campus map.
For more information on the haiku competition, please visit

No comments: